Sweet recognition: Beekeepers name honey contest winners

By on November 23, 2018

The Outer Banks BeeKeepers Guild recently announced the winners of its third annual honey contest. The winners were chosen from samplings of 12 Outer Banks honeys from guild members’ hives, each with its own special features.

Guest judges were Rick Coor, president of the North Carolina State Beekeepers Association; Paul Newbold, incoming president of the NCSBA, and Joey Russo, owner and chef of Russo’s Bistro and Bar. Russo also created the main course for the evening’s potluck dinner.

The individual honeys’ qualities — such as density, clarity and flavor — were compared and votes were tallied. The winners were:

  • Judge’s Choice-Light: Lenie and Tom Taylor, Wanchese
  • Judge’s Choice-Amber: Denise Deacon, Kitty Hawk
  • People’s Choice: Bobby Dupree, Kill Devil Hills

Winning the judge’s second and third place picks for light honey were Virgil Lanning of Kitty Hawk) and Don Babin of Rodanthe.

The judge’s second and third place picks for amber honey were Melissa Warner of Manteo and Sophie and Amy Johnson of Kitty Hawk.

The Outer Banks BeeKeepers’ Guild welcomes anyone who would like to know more about honey bees and beekeeping to attend a monthly meeting, usually held the second Wednesday of each month.

Visit outerbanksbeekeepers.com for more information, or contact OBBG president Denise Deacon at 252-722-3118.

Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Denise Deacon

Ms. Jeanne Ketterer:
Please feel free to contact me (OBX Bee Guild President) at the number listed in the article for information about available honey. Thanks for your interest!

Jeanne Ketterer

I would love to try the Outer Banks honey winners plus other available honey. Where on the OBX can I purchase? or order online? Thanks much!
Jeanne Ketterer