Ross, Tobin win full terms on Dare Board of Commissioners

By on November 7, 2018

Rob Ross (left) and Jim Tobin. (

Republicans Jim Tobin and Rob Ross, both appointed to the Dare County Board of Commissioners last year, won election to full, four-year terms for the first time on Tuesday.

While Ross ran unopposed in the general election to continue representing Distrct 2, Tobin turned aside a challenge from Democrat Rose Marie Doshier of East Lake for the District 1 seat.

A Manns Harbor resident and owner/operator of Pirates Cove Yacht Club and Marina, Tobin was appointed to the Board of Commissioners in April 2017 after Margarette Umphlett stepped down.

Tobin defeated Doshier by a margin of 53.92 to 46.08 percent to maintain the Roanoke Island and the Dare County mainland seat.

Ross, a retired business executive from Nags Head, has been on the board since January 2017 when he was appointed to replace current state Rep. Beverly Boswell as the commissioner representing Nags Head, Colington and Kill Devil Hills.

He defeated Ronnie Merrell in the May primary, and was not challenged in November.

Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.