Election 2018: Now it’s all up to the voters

By on November 5, 2018

Signs dot the landscape ahead of Tuesday’s election. (Sam Walker)

After nearly a year of campaign signs, fliers, ads, meet-and-greets, canvassing, fundraisers and forums, the 2018 Election comes to a close on Tuesday across North Carolina.

Turnout so far this morning has been heavy at some precincts in Dare County, with reports of up to a 90 minute wait at Kill Devil Hills Town Hall earlier today.

The state Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement said there were issues with 20 voting machines in the Raleigh-area malfunctioning due to high humidity levels, and ballots were being collected manually.

Officials emphasized that all votes will be counted.

More than a quarter of North Carolina’s registered voters have already cast ballots ahead of Election Day. Just over two million ballots were cast during early voting, which came to a close Saturday, setting a new record for mid-term elections.

Dare County’s 16 precincts, and polling places across North Carolina, are open until 7:30 p.m.

Voters in Dare County are choosing who will serve in the U.S. House of Representatives, the state Senate and House, the Board of Commissioners and Board of Education, the Sheriff, Clerk of Court, Register of Deeds, and members of the Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors.

Also on the ballot will be the District Attorney, seats on the N.C. State Supreme Court, the N.C. Court of Appeals, Superior and District court judgeships, and proposed amendments to the state Constitution.

» Click here for info on where to vote, what you and can’t bring with you and to see sample ballots.

Contested county races
There will be at least one new member of the Dare County Board of Commissioners, as Democrat Ervin Bateman of Kitty Hawk faces Republican Anne Petera of Kill Devil Hills for the at-large seat that will open with the retirement of Commissioner Jack Shea.
» Click for candidate profiles.

For the Board of Commissioners District 1 seat, incumbent Republican Jim Tobin of Manns Harbor is being challenged by Democrat Rosemarie Doshier of East Lake.
» Click for candidate profiles.

All voters in the county can vote for candidates in every district and at-large.

While three seats are up for election this year on the Dare County Board of Education, only one is being contested in the General Election.

Dare County school board candidates are being identified by their party affiliation for the first time in history, a change that was made by the N.C. General Assembly with no local support.

Both candidates running for the District 2 seat, incumbent Republican Joe Tauber of Kill Devil Hills and Democrat Jen Alexander of Colington, said at The Outer Banks Voice/Milepost Magazine Candidate Forum on Oct. 9 that they opposed making school board races partisan.
» Click for candidate profiles.

And for the first time in recent years, there is a contested race for Dare County Register of Deeds. Democrat incumbent Vanzolla McMurran of Manteo is seeking a fourth term, and is being challenged by Republican Cheryl House of Kitty Hawk.
» Click for candidate profiles.

The Register of Deeds is the custodian of documents recorded from the founding of Dare County to the present day, and records real estate documents, births and deaths.

Other responsibilities include issuing marriage licenses, handling notary commissions, military discharge recordings, and providing certified birth and death certificates, along with other documents.

Two seats on the Dare County Soil and Water Conversation District Board of Supervisors are also up for election, but no candidates filed to run and there are two write-in spaces available on the ballot.

North Carolina House and Senate
Voters are selecting a new member of the N.C. House of Representatives from the redrawn Sixth District this November, after one-term Rep. Beverly Boswell, R-Kill Devil Hills, was defeated in the Republican primary in May.

Republican Bobby Hanig and Democrat Tess Judge are vying for the seat representing Dare, Currituck, Hyde and Pamlico counties.
» Click for candidate profiles.

Hanig is in the middle of his first term on the Currituck County Board of Commissioners, and has been chairman since 2016.

This is the first time Judge has been on a ballot. Two years ago, she was nominated by the Democratic Party leaders to assume the votes cast for her late-husband, Warren, in the Sixth House District race after he died less than a week before the 2016 general election.

With the court-ordered revamping of legislative maps for the 2018 election, now-retiring Sen. Bill Cook was shifted into another district, leaving open the seat the Republican from Chocowinity held for three terms.

Democrat D. Cole Phelps and Republican Bob Steinburg are seeking election to be the new senator from the First District, which is the largest in North Carolina, covering 11 northeastern counties.
» Click for candidate profiles.

Currently in his second term on the Washington County Board of Commissioners, Phelps was the youngest commissioner in the state when he was first elected at age 24.

Steinburg is trying to follow Cook’s path to the Senate, after serving as the First District representative in the N.C House since 2014.

Constitutional Amendments
Voters will also see six amendments to the N.C. Constitution on the ballot dealing with voter identification, hunting and fishing laws, judicial appointments, the state Board of Ethics and Elections, reducing the maximum income tax rate, the rights of crime victims.
» Click for info on the proposals.

Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

See what people are saying:

  • wombatnc

    Thanks to all of the folks working at the polling places and kudos to the Dare County Board of Elections. From my own experience and from what I’ve heard from many about early voting and voting today, everything has run smoothly and efficiently.

    Tuesday, Nov 6 @ 9:48 am