Mandatory evacuations ordered areawide; Dare schools close

By on September 10, 2018

Addie Bangle of Salvo was on her way to Chesapeake as the order was issued. She stopped for gas in Grandy. (Sam Walker)

Dare County wants everyone to leave as Hurricane Florence, while targeting the state’s southern coast, still threatens to cause major flooding and wind damage throughout northeastern North Carolina, points west and into Virginia.

Dare officials declared a state of emergency and announced Monday that residents and visitors on Hatteras Island should evacuate starting at noon, and northern Dare at 7 a.m. Tuesday.

A state of emergency was also declared at noon in Hyde County. A mandatory evacuation for visitors and residents on Ocracoke Island will begin at 5 a.m. Tuesday.

Visitors in Currituck County have been told to evacuate starting at 7 a.m. Tuesday, and officials have issued a ban on alcohol sales throughout the county starting at the same time.

Shortly after the evacuations were announced, motorists lined up at gas stations and people stocked up on supplies at grocery stores with the expectation that most businesses, including restaurants, will be closed by Tuesday night, possibly until next week.

Staying around could mean inaccessible roads and nowhere to buy food or gas. Curfews are also possible after the storm passes.

While the storm’s center is still expected to cross south of the Outer Banks, heavy rain and surge concentrated in the northeast quadrant is a significant risk on the Outer Banks and could cut off roads.

Dare County Schools will be closed on Tuesday through the remainder of the week. Cape Hatteras Elementary and Cape Hatteras Secondary Schools released early today in response to the mandatory evacuation.

Residents and property owners will not be rrstricted from entering or leaving the county until 7 pm. Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Gov. Roy Cooper has obtained for a federal disaster declaration to ensure the state can get federal aid as soon as possible.

Here’s Dare County’s full statement:

A state of emergency has been issued and a mandatory evacuation order for all visitors and residents on Hatteras Island will be in effect beginning Monday, September 10 at 12:00 p.m. This includes all areas of Hatteras Island including the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras Village.

A mandatory evacuation for residents and visitors in other areas of Dare County goes into effect beginning Tuesday, September 11 at 7:00 a.m. This includes the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo; Roanoke Island; and the Dare County mainland.

The Dare County Control Group met Monday morning and has determined that a mandatory evacuation for all visitors and residents is necessary to ensure safety. Hurricane Florence is currently projected to be a category 3 or 4 storm at landfall in southeastern North Carolina and may bring life-threatening storm surge to Dare County, along with tropical storm force winds, heavy rains and the potential for tornadoes. Even a small northward shift in the track of the storm could bring devastating impacts to our area.

Everyone in Dare County is encouraged to evacuate as soon as possible regardless of the established time frames. Visitors should take all personal belongings and follow instructions from their property management company.

Those evacuating to areas north of Dare County are encouraged to consider traveling westbound on Highway 64 to Interstate 95. Evacuating through the rural areas to the west of Dare County will help avoid traffic backups and congestion that may prolong evacuation by traveling northbound through the Hampton Roads portion of Virginia. Be sure to check the weather forecast for travel conditions for the route you will be traveling and for your destination.

The state of emergency includes restrictions on swimming due to dangerous surf conditions and strong rip currents along the beaches. Everyone must stay out of the water as it is unsafe for even the most experienced swimmers.

Bulletins will periodically be issued by the Joint Information Center and the next scheduled update will be no later than 6:00 p.m. Monday. Visit for updated information, videos, and relevant links to official sources.

To receive notifications directly from Dare County Emergency Management, visit and follow @DareCountyEM on Twitter.

Due to the current state of emergency, reentry passes are not being issued by Dare County Emergency Management. Non-resident property owners are reminded that permits with an April 1, 2018 expiration date remain valid through December 30. Permanent residents use a valid driver’s license with a Dare County address for reentry. A current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching current government issued ID will also suffice. To review guidelines, visit

Entry to Dare County will remain unrestricted until Wednesday afternoon, according to Dare County spokesperson Dorothy Hester, to allow residents and property owners to leave and come back while making preparations for the storm.

Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

See what people are saying:

  • Diane

    Must one leave rental property

    Monday, Sep 10 @ 11:48 pm