Matthew Beickert sworn in as new Currituck County Sheriff

By on June 2, 2018

Beickert taking the oath with his family. (submitted)

Following the retirement of Currituck County Sheriff Susan Johnson, a new era began Friday as Matt Beickert was sworn-in as the new sheriff during a ceremony at the courthouse.

Beickert, who has been with the sheriff’s office for 21 years, was sworn in by Ray Matusko, Clerk of Superior Court.

Johnson, who served as sheriff for 18 years and nearly 30 years with the department, retired on Thursday.

Prior to his appointment by the Board of Commissioners last month, Beickert was the Chief Deputy of the sheriff’s office. He won the Republican nomination for sheriff in May, and is currently unopposed in the general election.

Matusko also administered the oath of office to Jeff Walker as chief deputy, and Jaymes Holden and David Castelow as captains.




Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.