Beekeepers Guild announces winners of annual honey contest

By on December 5, 2017

Judges Joey Russo (left) and Rick Coor with Judge’s Choice winners Mick Harris, Steve Ryan and Virgil Lanning, along with judge Paul Newbold. (Submitted photo)

The Outer Banks BeeKeepers’ Guild has announced the winners of the second annual Honey Contest held in November.

Guest judges were Rick Coor, president of the North Carolina State Beekeepers Association, Paul Newbold, chairman of the NCSBA Master Beekeeper Program, and Joey Russo, owner (and chef) of one of Kitty Hawk’s newest eateries – Russo’s Bistro and Bar.

Chef Russo also created the main course for the potluck dinner. Special guest Fountain Odom made the trip from Charlotte to partake in the tradition.


With samplings of 14 unique Outer Banks honeys from Guild members’ hives, each with its own special flavor and qualities, the judges and attendees had their work cut out for them. The sweet offerings were savored, votes were tallied, and the winners were:

  • Judge’s Choice, Light: Virgil Lanning (Kitty Hawk)
  • Judge’s Choice, Amber: Steve Ryan and Mick Harris (Salvo)
  • People’s Choice: Ken Randall (Frisco).

Frisco beekeeper Ken Randall took home the People’s Choice Award. (submitted photo)

Special Mentions were:

  • Judge’s Second: Lenie & Tom Taylor (Wanchese).
  • Judge’s Third: Three-way tie: Hugh Taylor (Colington), Drew
  • Owens (KDH), and Jeanne & Steve Brook (Colington).

The Outer Banks BeeKeepers’ Guild welcomes anyone who would like to know more about honeybees and beekeeping to join the guild’s  monthly meetings, usually held the second Wednesday of each month.

Visit Outer Banks Bee Keepers for more information, or contact OBBG president Denise Deacon at (252) 722-3118.

Recent posts in this category