The Lost Colony announces 2017 company award winners

By on September 7, 2017

Megan Glover accepts the Cora Mae Basnight Award from Lance Culpepper (left), The Lost Colony’s associate producer, and Bill Coleman, the production’s CEO. (Photo provided by Busy B Photography)

The Lost Colony celebrated the 430th birthday of Virginia Dare, the first English child born in the new world, on Friday, Aug. 18.

The Lost Colony commemorated the occasion with Virginia Dare Baby Night and an award ceremony honoring the talents of its company members, by awarding scholarships based on artistic and professional merit.

The first of the five company members to receive awards was Old Tom, Robert Hooghkirk, who received the Bob Knowles Award. This award is given in honor of Robert “Bob” Knowles, who dedicated 25 years to The Lost Colony as production coordinator, associate producer, and general manager.


Several of the company awards bestowed were named in honor of local performers in the long-running drama. The Cora Mae Basnight Award, given this year to choir member Megan Glover, is presented to a company member who exhibits distinction in music. This award’s namesake is the late Cora Mae Basnight, a Roanoke Island native, gifted pianist and one of The Lost Colony’s most beloved Agonas.

The Bob Midgette Award is named for Robert “Bob” Midgette, a Dare County native who performed in the production for 34 years, 26 of those in the role of Chief Manteo. Midgette continues to be involved with The Lost Colony as its fight director, and this was his 45th season with the production. Master Electrician Bri Weintraub was presented The Bob Midgette Award due to her overall excellence, professionalism and dedication to The Lost Colony production.

The Evelyn Russell Layton Award is presented to a company member to recognize and reward his or her promising theatrical talent and to assist the recipient while beginning a professional career. Assistant Costume Shop manager Jeri Meador received the 2017 Evelyn Russell Layton Award.

The Bradford Fearing Producers Award honors D. Bradford Fearing, who chaired a committee that organized “The Pageant of Roanoke” which later became The Lost Colony. A local merchant and politician, Fearing oversaw the production its inaugural year and served as producer and general manager for many years until his death. Technical Director John Underwood received the 2017 Bradford Fearing Producers Award. This is Underwood’s 30th season with the production.

The 80th Anniversary Season of The Lost Colony closed Saturday, Aug. 19.



Recent posts in this category