Crowded fields to compete in mayoral races

By on July 19, 2013


Four contenders are lined up to replace Southern Shores Mayor Hal Denny, who announced earlier this month that he was not running for re-election.

Candidate filings that ended at noon Friday also show a three-way race shaping up for mayor in Nags Head, where incumbent Bob Oakes is stepping down.

Races are contested in five of the six Dare County incorporated towns. The non-partisan elections are Nov. 5.

Candidates who have filed with the Dare County Board of Elections:

Duck Town Council, five seats
Donald P. Kingston, mayor
Nancy R. Caviness, incumbent
Chuck Burdick, incumbent
Monica Thibodeau, mayor pro tem
Jonathan Britt, incumbent
Suzan Gillis
Kevin L. Koon

Kill Devil Hills mayor
Sheila Foster Davies, incumbent

Kill Devil Hills commissioner, two seats
Travis Appleman
Beverly Gwyn Boswell, Planning Board member
Russell Blair
Michael Midgette

Kitty Hawk mayor
Gary Perry, mayor pro tem

Kitty Hawk Town Council, two seats
Craig Garriss, Planning Board member
Jeff Pruitt, Planning Board member

Manteo mayor
Jamie Daniels, incumbent
Madeline D’Ambra

Manteo commissioner, three seats
Richie Burke, incumbent
David P. Farrow, incumbent
Christine E. Walker, incumbent
Martha Wickre

Nags Head mayor
Doug Remaley, mayor pro tem
Bob Edwards, chairman of the town Planning Board
Anna Sadler, town commissioner

Nags Head commissioner, two seats
Marvin T. Demers, Planning Board member
John Ratzenberger
Wayne Gray
Perry White

Southern Shores mayor
George Kowalski, councilman
Tom Bennett
Gary McDonald
Susan Dineen

Southern Shore councilman, one seat
Leo Holland

The Voice will be providing more information on the candidates as Election Day approaches.

Print Friendly

Bookmark and Share

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *