Dare storm debris pickup starts this week

By on November 18, 2012

The Dare County Department of Public Works has released a pick-up schedule for debris from Hurricane Sandy.

Only storm-related debris will be picked up.  All other debris placed along the roadway is considered litter and subject to misdemeanor littering charges. 

Commercial haulers must use the transfer stations to dispose of debris, including that which is storm related, and pay applicable tipping fees.

Storm Debris should be placed on the side of the road for pick up. Debris should be placed in 4 separate piles:

  1. Vegetative Debris (limbs, leaves, branches, sea grass, etc)
  2. Construction and Demolition Materials (building materials, concrete, shingles, etc)
  3. Metal
  4. Household Hazardous Waste and Electronics (oil, bleach, toilet cleaner, tv’s, computers, etc.

Debris taken to the Dare County Transfer Station in Manns Harbor will be charged the usual tipping fee of $65/ton.  The same applies for the Buxton Transfer Station.

Please note that residents and property owners taking debris to the transfer stations are not charged for the first 500 pounds of debris on each trip.

The brush yard site located at 1018 Driftwood Drive, Manteo is closed for vegetative drop off until further notice. This site is open for recycling purposes.

The pick-up schedule for storm related debris is as follows:

Martins Point

Tuesday, Nov. 20

Wednesday, Nov. 21

Colington

Monday, Nov. 26

Tuesday, Nov. 27

 

East Lake, Stumpy Point, and Manns Harbor

Thursday, Nov. 29

Friday, Nov. 30

Wanchese and Manteo Outside

Monday, Dec. 3,

Tuesday, Dec. 4,

Wednesday, Dec. 5,

Hatteras Village

Thursday, Dec. 6

Friday, Dec. 7

Frisco Village

Monday, Dec. 10

Tuesday, Dec. 11

Buxton Village

Wednesday, Dec. 12

Thursday, Dec. 13

Avon Village

Friday, Dec. 14

Monday, Dec. 17

Rodanthe, Waves, and Salvo

Tuesday, Dec. 18

Wednesday, Dec. 19

Bookmark and Share


Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *