Early election results from KDH and Nags Head

By on November 8, 2011

Nags Head's candidates: From left, Mascaro, Ratzenberger, Cahoon, Walters, outside the town hall polling place. (Voice)

A new majority will take over the Kill Devil Hills Board of Commissioners in December after three challengers were voted into office Tuesday by wide margins.

Sheila Davies took 64 percent of the vote in defeating incumbent Mayor Ray Sturza in an election that drew impetus from a series of decisions leading to approval of a new Lowe’s.

Davies grabbed 562 votes to Sturza’s 307, according to unofficial totals from the Dare County Board of Elections.

Jeff Finch, the only incumbent commissioner running, finished last among four candidates vying for two seats. Mike Hogan and Brandi Rheubottom led the field. Hogan received 574 votes and Rheubottom, 523.

Jim Clark finished third with 301 votes while Finch received 234.

Challenger Sheila Davies led incumbent Ray Sturza by a sizable margin in pre-Election Day voting for mayor in Kill Devil Hills.

Nags Head’s race for two seats on the Board of Commissioners saw Susie Walters topping the field of four with 436 votes. Renee Cahoon finished second with 339 votes. John Ratzenberger garnered 293 votes with John Mascaro picking up 90.

Cahoon was up for re-election and the other seat was left open by Wayne Gray, who decided not to run.

Manteo’s race for the third of three seats on the Board of Commissioners was too close to call was too close to call.

Darrell Collins and Hannon Fry finished first and second, but only one vote separated H.A. Creef, with 62 votes, and Nancy Peel, with 61.

Learn more about the candidates:

Kill Devil Hills Mayor

Kill Devil Hills Board of Commissioners

Nags Head Board of Commissioners


Print Friendly

Bookmark and Share

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *