Republicans Shea and Doughtie win in Dare County

By on November 2, 2010

With almost half of Dare County’s registered voters casting ballots, Republican Jack Shea defeated Democrat Robin Mann Tuesday to keep his at-large seat on the Board of Commissioners.

Republican J.D. “Doug” Doughtie outpolled incumbent Sheriff Rodney Midgett by a comfortable margin, picking up 55 percent of the vote, according to unofficial results. Midgett has been sheriff since 2002.

Democratic state Sen. Marc Basnight retained his District 1 seat for a 14th term, but his 18-year run of leadership will come to an end as Republicans took their first majority in the chamber in more than a century. With 93 of 100 counties reporting late Tuesday, the GOP was unchallenged or led in as many as 30 of 50 Senate districts.

The News & Observer reported that the GOP had also won a majority in the state House of Representatives.

Meanwhile, Democratic state Rep. Tim Spear eased by Republican Bob Steinburg of Chowan County in the District 2 House race with 53 percent of the vote. Spear, a retired Washington County clerk, has been a state representative since 2006.

U.S. Sen. Richard Burr defeated Democrat Elaine Marshall and Republican U.S. Rep. Walter B. Jones was never threatened by two challengers.

Turnout was strong, with 45 percent of the county’s 26,758 registered voters casting ballots, the North Carolina State Board of Elections reported.

In Currituck County, Sheriff Susan Johnson defeated Republican challenger Donnie Norrell, picking up 58 percent of the votes. Republicans swept the three contested county commissioner races. The winners were Paul Martin, H.M. “Butch” Petrey and Marion Gilbert.

In three county commissioners races, Republican

State Senate District 1
Marc Basnight, D: 30,098
Hood Richardson, R: 24,627

State House District 2
Tim Spear, D: 12,656
Bob Steinburg, R: 10,332

Dare County Board of Commissioners, At-Large
Robin Mann, D: 5,550
Jack Shea, R: 6,191

Dare County Sheriff
Rodney Midgett, D: 5,264
J.D. “Doug” Doughtie, R: 6,640

1st Congressional District
Johnny G. Rouse, D: 50,194
Walter B. Jones, R: 141,053
Darryl Holloman, L: 4,671

click here for the results in Currituck County »


Recent posts in this category

Recent posts in this category

Comments are closed.